Open Season: Independent School Open Days

The Open Day season has begun, with the county’s leading independent schools welcoming parents and children in through the wrought-iron gates to assess their offerings.

Here is our quick overview of some of the upcoming open days for private day schools in and easily accessible from Cheshire. We have also included for convenience the key diary dates ahead of senior school admission for September 2019.

The Manchester Grammar School

  • Open Days: Thursday 27th September, 2018 4.30 – 7pm and Saturday 10th November, 2018 9.30am – 12pm
  • Application deadline: Monday 19th November, 2018
  • Assessment  days take place October 2018 – January, 2019
  • Entrance Exam: Wednesday 23rd January, 2019

Stockport Grammar School

  • Open Days: Saturday 22nd September, 2018 10am-12pm and Saturday 17th November, 2018 10am-12pm
  • Application deadline: 14th December, 2018
  • Entrance Examination: 9th January, 2018

Cheadle Hulme School

  • Open Days: Saturday 29th September, 2018 10am-12.30pm and Saturday 3rd November, 2018 10am-12.30pm
  • Online application now open
  • Entrance examination: Monday 14th January, 2018 followed by interviews in the following weeks.

King’s, Macclesfield

  • Open Day: Saturday 13th October, 2018 10am-1pm
  • Registration deadline: 9th January, 2019
  • Entrance examination: Friday 18th January, 2019
  • Life at Kings – Saturday 12th January, 2019 including a talk for parents and pupil taster lesson.

The Grange, Hartford

  • Open Day: Saturday 29th September, 2018
  • ‘Explore! Days’ held in January 2019
  • Examination: Saturday 2nd February, 2019
  • Closing date for applications: Friday 19th January, 2019.